The Run

It’s been three weeks of preparation and it was finally time to take this exam! I don’t usually feel like a test should have such importance but as I have mentioned before, it is a new system and I didn’t know what to expect. The exam itself is practically impossible to finish and most of the students I talked too didn’t get close to finishing. I on the other hand was able to finish but that can be contributed because I didn’t write out the steps too the solution. I simply put the answer I thought was correct on the page and didn’t bother explaining my process of thought. We find out if we pass the exam in a month and hopefully, that can be they end of it but at the moment, I just have my fingers crossed and hope for the best! If things don’t go according to plan (I don’t pass) then there is a resit exam, which I think is really cool because they give you the opportunity to take the exam again. That is very different from the U.S. because I don’t know of any class that allows you to retake the final exam.

After the test, there wasn’t much for me to do. I had been so academically focused for a long time and it would be the first week were I didn’t have “anything” to do, in regards to studying. I wanted to take a break and then refocus on my other courses so I stopped studying for a week and I’ll get back on the horse the upcoming week. Two classes have ended for me, which means I have a lot of free time now so I think will try to improve my proficiency in German.

IMG_2878Okay! Let’s switch the topic. I had never been to Heidelberg before so I thought that it might be a good idea to visit on Thursday because I found out there was no class in session. I was talking to Carolyn, who is in every single class of mine, about my idea and she mentioned that she might go on a run. Sarcastically, I told her that, “we should run to Heidelberg.” Honestly, I wasn’t expecting her to ponder about it or agree to it so this joke became a reality! I was kind of scared because I had never run 22 km so I didn’t know if my body was capable of handling it but f*#$ it, it’s worth a shot!

The run started early in the morning and we wanted to run along the Neckar so we took two tram stops that will put us closer to Heidelberg. The sign still read 20 km but Carolyn and I were determined so we started our run. During the run, we encountered certain parts that we had never seen before. One particular part that we thought was quiet the view was a place called Ladenburg, which we believe is located only a few km away from Mannheim and on the other side of the Neckar; I am sure that one day, we will visit this small city. The run itself was extremely tough and we were both pretty exhausted. We FINALLY decided to stop at a bridge in the Altstatd but afterwards, we were physically exhausted and needed some nutrition!

IMG_2880 IMG_2882

This had been my first time in Heidelberg so I wanted to explore the city for a few hours. On the way to the shopping center in the Altstatd, we asked around for a cheap restaurant nearby and we were directed to a place called Medócs, it offered lunch specials at a price of 5.90€. Afterwards, we walked to castle because like I said before, Germany has a fetish with castles and you can practically find one in every city. The inside of the castle was closed so we were only able see the outside, which was still pretty nice. We had a great view of the city and I would really like to go back to Heidelberg… on a less painful day; I am sure I will enjoy it and appreciate the beauty even more.

IMG_2886

ERC

Leave a Reply

